Pumpkins!

Many of you probably read that I am out of space on my  Der Bauernhof Blog for pictures. If you are a regular reader, you know I LOVE sharing photos. So until I find an alternative (or fill this one, too, lol!) I will put new posts here and share the link on Der Bauernhof.

I love Autumn! I do battle some depression this time of year as we travel through the anniversary of loosing Levi, but there is great joy in this season, too!!

We pick apples, hike in the changing woods and crisp air, and pick pumpkins. In school, the boys and I have been learning all about pumpkins. We talked about how they grow, the difference between gourds and squash, made pumpkin seed art and jack o lanterns, pumpkin goodies, and made our yearly homeschool trip to Goebel Farms.  Enjoy our past few weeks of pumpkin fun!!

After we read the Pumpkin Patch Parable and carved our pumpkins, I cleaned and dyed some seeds with food coloring. I let them sit in a strong dye for 3 days before daring, rinsing, and drying. Then the kids glued them onto a tree outline for a pretty picture.

 

We read lots of pumpkin books! Gabriel seems to fully understand the difference between Fiction and Non-Fiction. Here is a list of the books we enjoyed this week and last.

  • Pumpkin, Pumpkin by Jeanne Titherington
  • By the Light of the Harvest Moon by Harriet Ziefert
  • How Many Seeds in a Pumpkin by Margaret McNamara
  • Pumpkin Circle by George Levenson
  • The Biggest Pumpkin Ever by Steven Kroll
  • Seep, Sprout, Pumpkin Pie by Jill Esbaum
  • The Pumpkin Patch Parable by Nancy Munger

We just love our teary trip to Goebel Farms in Evansville! Jenelle Goebel, a homeschool mama herself, gives a fabulous tour! I just adore the touches of the Lord added. Jenelle made sure to let us know that God helps the pumpkins grow by providing what they need. We learn about wheat, corn, pumpkins, other squashes, and gourds. After, we are taken on a “straw” ride to pick a fruit from the field. When we return, there are corn mazes, a huge barn play area with a slide, animals to feed and love on, apple cider slushies to enjoy, and great friends to visit with. I always enjoy my time out in the field talking with Jenelle about our farm and theirs and her squash suggestions for the year! I am still hooked on Autumn Cup as the yummiest winter squash EVER! I prefer it over pumpkin in most recipes. I love it’s creaminess. It is also sweeter than pumpkin, so I can reduce added sugar in my recipes (usually by half!). Here are some fun shots of our day. I forgot my camera, so excuse the cell shots.

 

I have plans for LOTS of pumpkins and squashes at Der Bauernhof. I have so many seeds I have saved. Praying next year is the year of the Pumpkin Patch!

dsc01146

I hope all is well for you, dear friends. I have missed blogging. I really hope to figure out a better solution soon. Meanwhile, thank you for reading! Many Blessings!!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

