There is just something about eating from your Garden

How does your garden grow? Mine has been doing very well! I am quite pleased and we are eating quite a few meals from it. During the past week we included fresh produce harvested from our patch of goodness several times!

I am not entirely sure why I love sharing my food photos. But, today I think I grasped a bit of it. As I plated dinner, I said, “look at the color!” mostly to myself. Isabelle replied, “It’s JUST food.” And I exclaimed, “No! It is ART!” lol!!! 😀

Aside from being aesthetically pleasing (I get complemented on that often, so I guess that is the artist in me!), I think I have such pride in knowing I am providing, wholesome, nutrient dense, well- rounded meals to my family. I feel like food is so important. Gardening isn’t always easy. After all, just look at Genesis 3:17. “To Adam he said, “Because you listened to your wife and ate fruit from the tree about which I commanded you, ‘You must not eat from it,’ “Cursed is the ground because of you; through painful toil you will eat food from it all the days of your life.” NIV

And that is OK, because I find peace knowing I am following His will. It is hard (and painful at times), but Good!

And along the way we learn and grow, like our garden. “So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.” 1 Corinthians 10:31 I am thankful, because He has guided our knowledge. We really do feel quite blessed!!

So these 3 meals from the past week got photographed! lol!! I made a yummy chicken (oops! That is Venison. Some of the last of it for the year. 😦 ) stir fry with a side of sesame noodles. The carrots needed thinned, so this was a wonderful way to incorporate all those juicy baby carrots!!  😀

DSCN5257 DSCN5260

Last night we had a “pizza and movie” night. Our “pizza” was handmade calzones! Kale, mushroom, and ricotta, enveloped in homemade pizza crust, with a tomato-y pizza sauce to dip in. Sure wish tomatoes were ready! Would have been better than canned ones! The boys LOVE helping make calzones. Gabriel chops mushrooms, Sawyer shreds kale, they also like rolling out dough!!

DSCN5275 DSCN5277 DSCN5278 DSCN5279 DSCN5288 DSCN5290

Today I used some local ground pork and a menagerie of goodies to make a skillet meal! Served with a loaf of homemade bread, it was bright and yummy! The only veggies not from our garden was a sweet potato. Isabelle, of course, said I ruined this with that addition! lol…. She really dislikes sweet potatoes. Those, and cucumbers (unless they are pickles), zucchini (which I add to a TON of stuff), and avocados. Other than that (and she still eats them all), she is NOT a picky eater!

DSCN5294 DSCN5295 DSCN5296 DSCN5298

We have really made the push to eat local raised meats. The meat industry is pretty darn scary! Since we can’t raise our own, it’s the best we can do.

Well, I hope I haven’t left you hungry. 😉 Thanks for letting me share my art, Eating from the garden. It’s just food for my body and my soul.

Prayers for the people who have lost their gardens and crops to the torrential rains in the TX/ OK area. My thoughts are with you and your families.

Goodnight, God Bless.

Leave a Reply

