Abundance is a Blessing.

Today, my daughter, Isabelle, who is 13, helped to remind our lunch table that life should be more simple. And she is right.

Everyday we are overwhelmed with choices and complexities. My family and I have tried to choose the road of simplicity and balance. It doesn’t always come easily. Perhaps this is more primitive than most. Maybe not wanting a shiny new car and going out to eat often is strange to some. To our home, it is normal. Sometimes I wish we could be even more simple. Life, after all, doesn’t need to be complicated by the wants of this world.

It’s cool out today, 57 degrees, probably 20 degrees cooler than last Thursday, though I cannot be sure. It’s Spring. What do you do, besides thank the Lord it isn’t colder! lol! I have been in the garden everyday since we returned from the Ozarks; tending, weeding, planting. Until yesterday. The rain made me lazy. Today was much the same. Still, the beets needed thinned and the kids and I needed lunch. So out I went, basket in hand.

Last Spring, a very good friend of mine, V (for short, in case she would rather not be named), invited me to a garden party and brunch at a friend of hers’ house. It was truly lots of fun! I am so sad I missed it this year. I learned a few things, the kids played (lots of other homeschooled kiddos), and I got to take home some lovely plants! And the yummy goodies for brunch topped it all off! Well V made this dish of beet greens over rice. I will admit this dish really pushed me the rest of the way to plant beets! 😉 Bet you didn’t know that, did you, V? Of course I asked for a recipe, but it was too simple she said and named off the ingredients.

Basket sitting next to me, I gently loosed the crowding smaller roots. My red beets (I also have a golden variety, same size patch) patch isn’t very big. Root crops haven’t done well in our garden. But I will admit, something about harvesting from my own garden makes me feel blessed. God’s abundance! It’s there for the taking, I only need to tend it to reap the fruits.

“Blessed shall be the fruit of thy body, and the fruit of thy ground, and the fruit of thy cattle, the increase of thy kine, and the flocks of thy sheep.” Deuteronomy 28:4 KJV

unnamed

Isabelle washed up our baby beets and greens and I started prep on other things. I used the whole baby beet and green. Waste not, want not. I think V may have used mostly leaves, as I don’t remember hers looking so full of stems.

unnamed

Baby Beets and Greens over Rice

Wash 1-2 # baby beets and greens, chop. Start Rice (I made 3 cups).

Saute 3 Garlic Cloves n 1 Tb EVOO. I used our Cast Iron Dutch oven. Add beets and greens, sauté until nearly done. Add 4 Tb butter and finish to doneness. Add salt and pepper to taste. Serve over rice.

We sat down, gave thanks, and I placed a forkful in my mouth. While savoring the texture and simple flavors, I said, “mmm”.

Isabelle (who normally won’t eat the rice mixed in with anything) looks over and says, “I haven’t gotten to try it, it’s still hot.”

“Well, it is really just a very simple dish. Nothing special.” She takes a bite.

“That’s how it should be.” She says to me, with her voice of approval of the simple lunch.

Yes. I suppose it should. 🙂 ❤

Simple nourishment for our bodies.

When I work in my garden, I feel blessed to be able to provide good, clean food for my family meals. I am grateful that God has given me this job of being nourisher of the family. Of our home.  I am thankful the He called me to tend His garden by making me a mother. All the choices that were made have led me here. I know His hand has guided me, lifted me when I have stumbled. And I am nourished by Him. What better gift is there? The best part, He doesn’t expect me to have a shiny new car or brand new clothes. He wants me to live simply, for Him.

“And God is able to make all grace abound toward you; that ye, always having all sufficiency in all things, may abound to every good work.”

2 Corinthians 9:8 KJV

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for Your foresight of leading me and gifting me with the tedious, but most rewarding job- Mother. How blessed I am, Lord, that You nourish my garden and my soul. Amen

Are you tending to to the flame of love God has placed in your heart? Be generous. Be reverent. Someday we will all have a chance to run in God’s garden.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…


 

 

 

One thought on “Abundance is a Blessing.

  1. Thank You, that you keep a good message for the spirit, soul and body……. short, so that we pause and then keep moving onto the next good message in life.
    Blessings,
    izzi~avis

Leave a Reply

