Syrup Making, Birthday Treats, Sunshine (hopefully the LAST of the snow), and Gumbo!!!

Wow, has it been BUSY! Who is ready for a picture HEAVY post? I know you LOVE it! 😛

We made our first batch of Maple Syrup! About 16 gallons of Maple sap, boiled down to a quart of PURE MAPLE SYRUP!!! I am sooo excited, I may make pancakes for dinner tonight!

DSCN3005 DSCN3018 DSCN3024 DSCN3034 DSCN3037

Friday was my birthday. Another year….sigh…lol! It has been rather nice! Isabelle is calling my birthday week!!! 😛

The week started on Thursday; we drove down to mom’s. She made a yummy dinner and cake for me! I wish I had gotten a picture of the Venison Swiss Steak! I plan to add her recipe to my cookbook! It was so yummy! The cake was good, too, and so pretty, with Dandelions… ❤

DSCN3039

Before dinner, we took the opportunity to ENJOY (can’t believe I said that) the last of snow, or so we pray. It was fun! And I don’t like snow!! Sawyer learned he could make foot prints in the snow. Even Forest (my parent’s  13 yr old cocker/lab) was loving it the warmth combined with the crisp fresh air.

DSCN3045DSCN3043 DSCN3044 DSCN3040

DSCN3058 DSCN3097 DSCN3069 DSCN3065

RSCN3146 RSCN3128

On Friday, my Mom kept my children, (all 3 of them!) for a bout 3 -4 hrs, while Matt and I explored antique shops and boutiques in Greenville. It wasn’t much, but what I wanted to do, and not too far away from Mom’s. See, Sawyer had NEVER been left with anyone, except about an hour with Daddy. And BOY did I need that break!! And guess what!? Sawyer did so well! Mom said he never cried for me!! But I missed him. We had some snuggles as soon as I walked in the “Happy Birthday” decorated door. ❤ Soon he was fast asleep… On my shopping trip I picked up a skirt, cropped sweater, and antique plate.  And I came home to the new MJF and seed catalogs in the mail!!!

DSCN3132 DSCN3130 DSCN3136 DSCN3129

DSCN3173 DSCN3143 DSCN3142 DSCN3150

DSCN3203 DSCN3200

Yesterday, Matt had a welding class. So the kids and I stayed home. I worked on DandeeRose Design things, and some Simply Aroma things, and worked around the house a bit. It was warm and sunny enough the hang laundry (finally), so I got diapers washed and out in the sun! I was so happy to put laundry outside, but it wasn’t pleasant that I had to don my galoshes and sink an inch or so in the mud to do it. Nevertheless, they are soaking in the rays!! lol!

DSCN3215 DSCN3213

I made Gumbo for dinner, since I didn’t have time to on Tuesday. I wasn’t sure if it would be a dish my family would enjoy, but they LOVED it! The veggies were all from the freezer (last year’s garden), so that was nice! And, of course, I made the broth, so it is nutrient dense. 🙂

DSCN3197 DSCN3199 DSCN3207 DSCN3208

Matt came home and brought me a cake, cards, and flowers! ❤ He bought me 2 cards, to TRY to get the perfect message!! ❤  What Mommy cake is complete without little fingers getting in it before it’s time?! Sawyer reached up and grabbed it, then started flinging his had to shake it off. Matt showed him to lick it, he didn’t realize what it was….so cute!

DSCN3212 DSCN3206

I am off to enjoy more of my birthday WEEK! lol!! Tomorrow I am starting a clean eating challenge with some friends on FB, so cake has to be gone… 😉

Have a beautiful God-given Sunday!!

Leave a Reply

