“The Pig is in the Garden!!”

So with 75% of the votes, here is the winning recipe!! ENJOY! Please tell me how you like it and send some critiques my way! 😉

A main focus for my cookbook will be what you can get local or grow for yourself. Local food is fresher and nutrient dense. When I shop I purchase what I can locally, then I go for organic Iif I must buy from the store. Sometimes that isn’t always available either, but that is how I choose to shop. I pay very close attention to foods being gmo free. I try very hard to make sure my family doesn’t eat pesticide ladden frankenfood.

The other reason I choose to buy from local sources is to support our economy by supporting local small farmers. I am pretty passionate about this. We have many great local farmers in our area. I have made friends and gotten to know a lot. They are so wonderful!

Image

The Pig is in the Garden!!

Serves 6

The Stew

1 pound local sausage (we used Fischer’s)

4 cloves of garlic

1 small yellow onion

1- 28 oz can of Organic Diced Tomatoes (OR, more preferably, your own canned ones!)

3 carrots

2 small- med zucchini

2 cups salad tomatoes (I have mini yellow pear in the freezer! 😉 )

3 cups fresh spinach

1/2 tsp dried or 1 1/2 tsp fresh basil

2 Tb EVOO

Fresh Parsley

Brown Sausage, set aside.

Saute Garlic in EVOO, until fragrant, add in onion. Mix in browned sausage, finely sliced carrots, all tomatoes, and simmer for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add in diced zucchini and basil; simmer another 15 minutes. Carrots should be softer, but not mush. I like a tad crunch still in mine. So adjust as you like. Add in the spinach, combining until wilted and mixed in.

Simultaneously….

Cheesy Polenta

4 c filtered water

1 c Organic cornmeal

1 ts salt

3 Tb Butter (NOT margarine!)

1/3 c Cheese (we use raw organic Monterey Jack from Steckler’s Grassfed)

Bring salt and water to a boil. Slowly whisk in cornmeal, lower heat to Med-Low. Simmer until desired thickness. Add REAL butter and cheese.

Spoon Polenta onto plate, and stew on top, adding fresh parsley . Enjoy!!! 🙂

Good night!!!! God bless and happy meal preparations!

 

Enjoying reading bits from the Winkler Homestead? See what other Homesteaders are up to this week as well!!

 

barnhopimage

One thought on ““The Pig is in the Garden!!”

  1. Pingback: “The Pig is in the Garden!!” | The Mostly Crunchy Farmgirl

Leave a Reply

