Comfort food…. YUMMY

Last night I decided to introduce my kids to a new genre of music. Something had me thinking about Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, and Thyme. Next thing I knew I was longing for Scarborough Fair, Simon and Garfunkle style! Isabelle had heard the song before, but redone by Celtic Woman on my Enya station.

A quick search and we not only had S&G, but the Beatles, Van Morrison, Peter, Paul, and Mary, Journey, and CCR! Isabelle giggled as I “Rocked On”, belting it out at the computer, in the kitchen to check my bread and broth I was making or cut veggies, across the Living Room,…. Well, you get the picture, right?! lol!

It was fun trying to explain some of the lyrics meanings to Isabelle, who kept saying, “I don’t get it.” I tried explaining “Sound of Silence” as a metaphor for the way people don’t communicate anymore. Even in the 60’s it was a problem. TV has assured us of such.

Dinner last night was Potato Soup and a fresh loaf of bread. I used to make the most delicious cheesy loaded potato soup. I hadn’t made it in going on two years. It was Isabelle’s fav! But my recipe called for a can of condensed cheddar cheese soup. Um…YUCK! If only I knew then… It was time to get creative and recreate!! 🙂

Here was my post on Facebook last night:

“Listening to “Scarborough Fair” Radio on Pandora… Recreating my potato soup recipe. FINALLY! No more processed yuck! It’s been so loooong my creamy comforting friend. Anyway, I got inspiration! Another Cookbook piece!!! YEAH! “Scarborough Fair Potato Soup”. Loving coming up with fun names. Ever since Matt called my Mac and cheese with Kale, “Pig Noodles and Kale”!!!”

We shall save Pig Noodles and Kale for another time. Let me say this, though. NONE OF IT WAS WASTED! 🙂

So why Scarborough Fair Potato Soup? Well, Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, and Thyme, OF COURSE! 😛

DSCN2528 ??????????????????????????????? DSCN2531 DSCN2533

I had fresh Parsley in the fridge, the Sage was grown by my mom last year. Sadly, my herbs didn’t do well last year. I can’t wait to make it again with my own!!

Also it could use a bit of thickening. So says my husband… 😉

I have decided that I want to build a table. This table, actually,

IMG_5798

But in a darker, more worn stain look.

3154810004_1336936573

 

Photos on http://ana-white.com/2012/11/plans/farmhouse-table-updated-pocket-hole-plans (Top from The Friendly Home, Bottom posted by member Southern Pines)

Have a great day, stay warm, God Bless!!

Leave a Reply

